Commenting on the National Young Stars at the prize giving ceremony, event chairman Neil Lloyd said: “Yet again the standard of youngsters competing was mind blowing to see. The work these teams put in over the two days, not to mention in the run up to the event is to be commended and they’re all a credit to their sponsors, family and the industry.”

The event, which is hugely supported by headline sponsors Allflex UK, sees more than 120 youngsters aged between eight and 26 years of age compete in various sections in competitions including stockjudging, show preparation, ring craft, public speaking, marketing and publicity and industry knowledge competitions, making this event a standalone national platform for agriculture’s next generation.

Flying the flag for the South East in the Untrimmed sheep section was Tolly Ridge, Dallington, East Sussex, who along with his two team mates Chris Adamson and Henry Scott, entered under the banner of the Kerry Hill Young Breeders.

These three individuals impressed the judges with a fantastic promotional stand which won the overall promotional stand award of the show and high standard of presentation throughout all areas of the competition.

Commenting on their win, judge Brian Davies said: “These three young men are a credit to their breed and impressed us with their work ethic, teamwork ethic and dedication to the competition.” Runners up in the trimmed section were the Hampshire Down Hot Shots of Ellie Alvis, Stephen Short and Samantha Todd.

Also competing in the sheep teams, this time in the Untrimmed Sheep section was a team of Southdown representatives consisting of Mollie Gamble, Orpington, Kent, Nick Cooper, Strood, Kent and Elliece Kempster, Chatham, Kent. With two Southdown shearling ewes from Mollie’s own flock, they came a credible third place with Millie winning the untrimmed stockjudging section as well.

Standing fourth, also in the untrimmed section, was the team from Wittersham-based Lovejoy Farm Partnership. Will Edmonds who is shepherd for the commercial and pedigree sheep operation owned by Ed and Gemma Lovejoy teamed up with their eldest daughter Chloe Lovejoy and fellow Ashford Young Farmers member Amy Langdon.

Meanwhile in the cattle lines, the winning dairy team saw Florence Mannerings, Alkham, Kent win the section representing the Farmers Guardian sponsored Dairy Shorthorn team. Florence was competing alongside Bob Crank, Cheshire and Hannah Morgan, Shropshire. These three will now be heading to the European Dairy Show next year at Libramont as part of their winning prize.

A new competition this year saw a section for Dual Purpose and or Untrimmed Cattle with the Sussex Martlets team coming in as runner ups. The team consisted of Grace Twyman, Ashford Kent, Sarah Dykes, Wivelsfield, Sussex and Freddie Hutchings, Hailsham, East Sussex, all representing the Sussex Cattle Society and Bungehurst Farm. Freddie went one better and was awarded the best under 16 team member in the section.

Full results:

Under 16 awards

Beef: Kian Frain, Black as Night
Untrimmed Sheep: Harry Stamp, Dorset Down Dazzlers
Trimmed Sheep: Owen Powell
Dairy: Hannah Morgan, Roan Rangers
Pigs: Olivia Holtman, Rimrock Rascals
Dual Purpose/Untrimmed Cattle: Freddie Hutchings, The Sussex Martlets

Beef Trimmed (Judges Hazel Timmis and Wendy Morgan)

1. Black as Night, sponsored by Davey’s Livestock Transport Ltd, Glympton Farms and Melview Farming: Ellie Westaway, Kian Frian and Robyn Westcott
2. Lim-It, sponsored by the British Limousin Cattle Society: Emma Rathbone, Brokks Carey and Elliw Roberts.
3. Team Canada, sponsored by 4-H Canada: Connor Rodger, Travis Fulford and Katie Elmhirst.
4. The Northern Boys, sponsored by the British Charolais Cattle Society: Michael Dumbreck, Tom Brown and Harry Stobart.

Dual purpose/untrimmed cattle (Judges Haxel Timmis and Wendy Morgan)

1. Delightful Dexters, sponsored by The Wise Cow and Rayner Farms: Millie Bennett, Evie Welch and Oliver Spence.
2. The Sussex Martlets, sponsored by The Sussex Cattle Society and Bungehurst Farm: Grace Twyman, Sarah Dykes and Dreddie Hutchings.

Dairy (Judges Molly Westwood and Katie Davidson)

1. Roan Rangers, sponsored by The Farmers Guardian: Bob Crank, Florence Mannerings and Hannah Morgan.
2. Just Jerseys, sponsored by the Jersey Cattle Society of the UK: Emily Davis, Jess Ravenhill and Jess Tapp.
3. Red Revolution, sponsored by NMR: Nyomi Bandd, Dave Madeley and Anna Crank.
4. English Guernsey Cattle Society, Sponsored by the English Guernsey Cattle Society: Heather Limon, Charlotte Limmond and Hannah Garrett.

Sheep (Judges Brian Davies and Colin Phillips)


1. Dorset Down Dazzlers, sponsored by Calcott Hill Farm: Alex Hext, Aaron Hext and Harry Stamp.
2. True Blues, sponsored by the Blue Texel Sheep Society: Harvey Heath, Ted Lloyd and Jack Bodily.
3. Southdown, sponsored by the Southdown Sheep Society: Mollie Gamble, Nick Cooper and Elliece Kempster.
4. Rocking Romneys, sponsored by Lovejoy Farm Partnership, Owen Building, Ashford and District YFC and KYFC: Amy Langdon, Will Edmonds and Chloe Lovejoy.


1. Kerry Hill Young Breeders, sponsored by the Kerry Hill Flock Book Society: Chris Adamson, Henry Scott and Tolly Ridge.
2. Hampshire Hot Shots, sponsored by Hampshire Down Breeders Association, I’Ansons, Fane Valley Stores, Lidl, Dunbia and Cowan Haulage: Ellie Alvis, Stephen Short and Samantha Todd.
3. Ryeland Young Breeders, sponsored by Ryeland Flock Book Society and Estate Country Feeds: Matthew Pink, Philippa Grey and Harry Watson.
4. Shropshire Young Shepherds, sponsored by Shropshire Sheep Breeders Society: Ellie Russell, George Clay and Owen Powell.

Pig (Judges Tom Blunt, David Fieldhouse and Denis Elliot)

1. Massey Divas, sponsored by Massey Brothers Feeds Ltd: Grace Bretherton, Charlotte Ashcroft and Eve Ashcroft.
2. Spotty Trotters, sponsored by The Gloucestershire Old Spots Pig Breeders Club: Ella Kirtley, Sarah Whitley and Charlotte Gill.
3. Sizzling Saddlebacks, sponsored by Cornish mutual and Stud Farm Meats: Charlotte Oliver, Merryn Philp and Lissy Horsley.
4. Piggy Pilots, sponsored by British Lop Pig Society: Connie Dallaway, Eleanor Arden and Aimee Jeeves.

Butchery (Judges Martin Eccles and Viv Harvey)

1. Jess Pugh, sponsored by the Ludlow Food Centre
2. Jake Edwards, sponsored by Althams Butchers
3. Ben Greenfield, sponsored by Greenfield Lamb