The venue was befitting of an awards ceremony and was hosted by YFC student members Aaron May and Brandon Hughes.

Club leader, Donna Ashlee explained: “We wanted to do something really special this year to mark what an amazing past year we have had, we celebrated our 20th anniversary lambing day back in March and had an exciting time filming with BBC Countryfile at the Kent Country Show in July to name just two highlights.” Donna continued: “We also achieved our best ever results for our BTEC First Diploma and National Diploma courses with students gaining places for further study in vet nursing and animal grooming. One of our past students and YFC members also qualified as a vet in the past year; plus we hosted over 400 primary school pupils throughout the year who all enjoyed ‘Farming School’ lessons based on where food comes from.”

Parents, members, staff and friends of the club – including past members of staff who flew in from Ireland especially for the event – enjoyed an evening of presentations and dinner. Donna said: “The pinnacle of the evening was the student awards which were hotly contested and very difficult to decide upon this year, we are so proud of all of our Young Farmers who really are a very special group of young people.”


The Toby Parret Shield (the most enthusiastic YFC member)

Winner: Cameron Easby
Runner Up: Brandon Hughes.

The Edwards Cup (Most improved YFC member)

Winner: Liam Clarke
Runner Up: Brandon Hughes

The Corrie Cup (Cattle person of Kent Show)

Winner: Aaron May
Runner Up: Maria Goldsmith

The Langley Award (Pig person of Kent Show)

Winner: Max Andrews
Runner UP: Harry Wells

The Duffield Award(Lamb person of Kent Show)

Winner: Holly Bateman
Runner UP: Holly Cook

The Bryan Hawkes Memorial Trophy for Stockmanship

Winner: Abbi Phillips
Runner Up: Max Andrews

Brockhill YFC member of the Year

Winner: Aaron May
Runner Up: Holly Taylor